The Lifestyle Edit:

Throwback to my Senior Pictures!

I am very excited to be launching this new section, the Lifestyle Edit! I wanted to do this by the end of the year, and I am fortunately making it. [right under the wire, not so fortunately!] This section will be a menagerie of posts. Home decor, throwback posts, gift ides, diy post, and anything above, beyond and in between. I’m excited to be expanding the blog and hopefully putting up more and more content in 2017. Continue reading to see a throwback to my senior pictures ad well as some tips for planning your senior session! [Rather it be college or high school!]

img_3286

img_9017

I wanted to do something a little different for this blog post so I thought I would share my high school senior pictures from last year! I was SO in love with the photographs. Picking what to wear for your senior pictures can be so difficult. No one wants to look back and think “omg what was I thinking” or “why did I wear that?!” So I thought I would share a couple of tips for picking the right outfit for your personality.

  1. Timeless pieces are always a good idea. Some dresses while beautiful will quickly go out of style, however, every girl has at least one look they think “never gets old.” I  love a classic floral romantic look. Every girl wants to feel like a princess and this dress sure made me feel that way. [When a girl or guy is confident in what they are wearing it makes the photographs a thousand times better.] So for everyone this might not be their idea of the perfect dress but I felt as if it expressed my personality and was a piece I’d never look back on and regret wearing. Being yourself in your senior portraits is the most important thing. When you look back on these and show your children, you want them to see who you were at that point in your life and that is a really special memory to share
  2. Less is more! This tip is probably the most important. I didn’t wear any jewelry or shoes with this outfit, and that is because when a lot is going on in a picture, it draws attention away from the person being photographed. Which is also why I chose this location! Not only is it a perfect representation of where I grew up in high school it also is so raw and naturally beautiful. It truly complemented the dress as well as bring a natural element to the photographs which makes them translate a lot more effortless.

img_3303img_3301

Another tip I recommend for planning your senior session is to make sure you know the photographer before the shoot. [If possible!] I am good friends with the photographer that took all my senior pictures and it made the session SO FUN! It’s so much easier to be yourself when you are comfortable around the person behind the camera.

img_9028img_6735img_6718

The designer of this two-piece look is For Love and Lemons; that is also the designer of the dress above. I just absolutely love everything they design. All of the pieces are so effortless and romantic and a little (or a lot haha) sexy. Adding a simple accessory like a bouquet of flowers to the shoot can be so fun. It adds a lot of different posing options as well!

img_9019img_9016img_9012

These are the last three photos I will be sharing. For these looks, I chose to do a more casual style which is never a bad idea if you decide to do multiple outfit changes. Some of these were taken out at one of my families properties we have cattle on. I think it can just be so fun to do pictures in such raw elements. Shooting in cities can be difficult due to people walking in the streets, traffic signs, littering, etc. Some people like to shoot in studios. However, I think that looks so much more composed and planned and as I’ve said numerous times I always prefer the effortless look or style. I hope y’all enjoyed looking at my senior pictures and reading a couple of tips for planning your session. As always thank you for reading and stay tuned for more lifestyle posts coming to the blog!

XO,

B

Leave a Reply

