The Food Edit:

The perfect mashed potatoes!

IMG_7743

If I had to pick one thing to eat for the rest of my life it would be these mashed potatoes. I’ve spent probably around two years perfecting my recipe of what I consider the perfect mashed potatoes and this is my favorite of all the variations I’ve created. [Let me know if you want me to post some of those!] This is only a recipe for a serving of two but you can easily double it if need be. This would be the perfect side dish to bring to any family gathering this Christmas! 🎄

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium yellow potatoes, diced
  • 2 tbsp of butter
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 2 tbsp chicken bullion
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Steps:

  1. Bring about 6 cups of water to a boil in a medium saucepan. [I just guess with my eyes but some people are more comfortable with precise measurements.]
  2. Peel the potatoes then dice them into small pieces.
  3. Once the potatoes are diced add them and the chicken bullion into the boiling water. [Adding the chicken bullion gives the potatoes so much more flavor, it’s a trick my Grammy taught me!]
  4. Boil the potatoes until soft. [About 10 minutes depends on how hot your stove is.]
  5. Turn off the heat and drain the potatoes.
  6. Melt butter in pot [I use the same one I boiled the potatoes in.] and then add drained potatoes along with the milk.
  7. Mash the potatoes using a potato masher.
  8. Add salt and pepper.
  9. Serve and enjoy!

    As always thank you for reading and let me know if there is anything you’d like to see featured on the blog! I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas! 

    XO,

    B

Leave a Reply

