The Food Edit:

{Crockpot Carnitas}

 

Today I’m sharing with you a quick and easy crockpot recipe for some seriously delicious carnitas! I’ll also be sharing two recipes with you for options on what to do with the carnitas once finished! The best part about cooking something like this is because there are several different things you can make it with, and it never feels like you’re eating leftovers! [You could always do one for dinner and the other as leftovers!]

Ingredients:

  • 3.5-4lb boneless pork shoulder, cut into about 8-10 pieces
  • 1 orange
  • 2 limes
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced thinly
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 2 bay leaves
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

 

Steps:

  1. Cut pork shoulder into medium sized pieces, then put in crockpot.
  2. Cut the orange in half and juice it and put all the juice and two slices in the crockpot.
  3. Juice the limes and put lime juice in crockpot.
  4. Thinly dice the onion and crush the garlic then add to crockpot.
  5. Add 1/3 cup water [I put the water in to keep the meat moister since I was cooking it on high.]
  6. Add oregano, cumin, cayenne, bay leaves, salt and pepper to the crockpot.
  7. Mix all the ingredients together until the mixture is covering all the meat.
  8. Turn crockpot to high and let sit for 2 hours checking periodically and stirring.
  9. Then turn the crockpot to low and cook for an additional 30 minutes.
  10. Once the meat is cooked, drain it and put the pieces on a plate and shred the meat. [I always use two forks to shred meat; and I also recommend not using a paper plate most of the time they get too moist and tear mid shredding.]

 

Now that is how you make the crockpot carnitas! For additional recipes using this meat keep scrolling! 😉

I have two recipes using the carnitas meat from the recipe above. The first one I’ll share with you is quesadilla’s!

Carnitas and cheese Quesadillas!

 

This recipe is so EASY and yummy I couldn’t help but share! I also have a tip to seriously step up your tortilla game with hardly any effort! 😉 [Also I did not include measurements for this recipe because it depends on how many you’re making I just made two. I use about a handful of cheese for each.]

Ingredients:

IMG_0255.JPG
These Tortillas will change your life! They taste so fresh!
  • Carnitas
  • Flour tortillas [The brand/kind I pictured to the right are the best tortillas ever! All you do is peel of one uncooked tortilla and cook it in a skillet. They’re so yummy; shoutout to my mom for discovering these and changing the breakfast taco game. LOL.]
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Butter [I just put a small slice of butter in the skillet before I cook the quesadilla to add to the crispiness as well as the flavor but it is optional.]

 

Steps:

  1. Cook the tortillas according to the instructions on package.
  2. Once you’ve cooked the tortillas turn the skillet off and add the cheese and carnitas meat to the flour tortilla. [I like to put cheese then carnitas then additional cheese but thats just my preference. It really doesn’t matter how you chose to do it.]
  3. Top with another flour tortilla.
  4. Then melt a small slice of butter in the saucepan, once halfway melted place the uncooked quesadilla in the melted butter and cook/flip until browned on both sides.
  5. Slice into quarters and enjoy!

 

I hope you liked this quick and delicious recipe! I paired my quesadillas with my favorite hot sauce! Keep Scrolling to find out how to make BBQ pulled pork sandwiches from the carnitas recipe. 

BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches!

IMG_0283.jpg

 

One of my guy friends is obsessed with BBQ so I turned his portion of the carnitas into BBQ pulled pork sandwiches and he LOVED them! These would be perfect for football Sunday! 😉

 

Ingredients:

  • Carnitas
  • Your favorite BBQ sauce [I used Sweet Baby Rays]
  • Pre-sliced Munster cheese
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Buns

 

Steps:

  1. Put carnitas in a bowl then add BBQ sauce [Some people prefer theirs saucer then others, I just eyeballed it.] and mix until the carnitas have BBQ covering them.
  2. Toast buns with cheese on them. [I just did them on the toast setting in my toaster oven for about 7 minutes.]
  3. Pull out buns once brown and cheese is melted. Then putt BBQ pulled pork on them and BAM best sandwich ever! 😉 You can add whatever condiments you like!
  4. Grub time!

 

I hope y’all enjoyed this recipe as well as the other ones in the post. I loved making these carnitas and thought you guys might like more than one option of ways to use to the meat. Since I live alone when I make meat I prefer to make a lot of it and do different things with it; it also helps save money and lots of time! If you liked me including two recipes let me know and I’ll try to do more posts similar to this one! As always thanks for reading, scroll to the bottom of the page to subscribe via email to be the first to hear about blog posts!

XO,

B

Leave a Reply

